twitter instagram facebook linkedin youtube 

Welcome from the President - Pamela Dixon

Welcome to the 2021/2022 year of the Canadian Society of Forensic Science (CSFS).

The last year was one of great adaptability, resilience and responsibility. The forensic science community continued to provide services to both our policing and education communities. I salute all the hardworking staff of forensic labs, educational facilities and all those who continued to do what needed to be done during the Pandemic. This year, I look forward to working with the Board of Directors and the CSFS committee chairs to support our membership and look for ways to be innovative. I would like to build on the foundation we have garnered and look for ways to ignite our imagination and collaboration.

Upcoming E

  • vntsMembership voted in favor of accepting the recommendation of the Board of Directors to create a new section of the CSFS, Blood Spatter Analysis (BPA). The new BPA section will be chaired by Maria Fiorillo.
  • A Special Committee was struck to draft a response to the Canadian Indian Residential School Burials. An interim response is posted on our website, we welcome your input and comments.
  • Standing & Special committee updates on their work over the past year

Congratulations to our CSFS Award Recipients

Among the most important activities of the CSFS is recognizing achievement and commitment in the field of forensic science. At the June Annual General Meeting we were proud to honour the following deserving individuals:

Doug Lucas Award
Dr. Daryl Mayers

Rita Charlebois Award
Dr. Karen Woodall

Certificate of Merit
Élisabeth Cuerrier-Richer, Rolanda Lam, Quan Le, Jihwa Lim, Eugene Liscio, Sumiko Polacco, Rebecca Skrebutenas, Brayden Vale

Education Award
Payton Smith and Jeffrey Yung

CSFS 2021 was a huge success!

CSFS 2021 Banner_Final_JPG med
The forensic science community, near and far, came together in late June for the CSFS’s first ever virtual conference. Click here to read more. Thank you to all who attended!

“Incredible! Smooth operation, and I enjoyed the variety of presentations and presenters.”

“Great conference and I hope to attend (virtually) next year!”

“Thank you for putting on a wonderful conference. I am very enthusiastic about the event and how good this has been for the Society.”

Conference Prize Winners

Become a Peer Reviewer!

Want to learn the benefits of becoming a peer reviewer? Click here for useful information and express your interest to our CSFS Journal Editor, Dr. Rolanda Lam.
We had many winners throughout the CSFS 2021 conference and AGM. Thank you to all the companies and individuals who donated the prizes!

Board of Directors

Pamela Dixon (President), Benny Wong (Past-President), Kimberly Nugent (President-Elect), Louise Cloutier (Treasurer), Valerie Blackmore, Maria Fiorillo, Nelson Lafrenière (Secretary), Diana Polley, Kimberly Kenny, Tanya Peckmann, Diane Séguin, Henry Wong
twitter instagram facebook linkedin youtube